Skeptic News: ‘Chinese therapist left me with burns’

From: Swindon Advertiser

A PATIENT treated by a herbal medicine practitioner convicted of groping a woman at a high street clinic has told how he left her in agony after a botched Chinese therapy.

The woman, who had gone to Herbal Shop in the town centre, received a “cupping” treatment from Hong Wei Dong, leaving her with burns which took months to heal.

Dong, 51, was convicted on Monday of sexual assault after grabbing a shocked patient in the chest area and performing a sex act during an acupuncture session.

Another woman, who asked not to be named, told of her own ordeal last July after she paid for the treatment which uses heated cups to create suction and improve blood circulation.

She said: “I could feel the cups scalding my skin, I started thinking straight away it was too hot.

“When I showed my mum she thought I had third-degree burns.

“I went to the doctor and he couldn’t believe it had happened at a health shop.

“The welts were horrific. I had to use a special gel on the burns for weeks and now I’m in fear of having any heat on my back.”

Dong was not a member of self-regulatory bodies The Association of Traditional Chinese Medicine and the British Acupuncture Council, it emerged yesterday.

 

This entry was posted in news, opinion, Scepticism and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

